Self Promotion

One lesson that I’ve learned about being a blogger is that one must promote oneself.  Humility is not a trait that a true blue blogger should cultivate.

So to that end, I’m going to keep you updated on any and all accomplishments; food or otherwise.

I am a huge fan of Food 52.  So I started entering their weekly contests when I had a recipe that I thought was worth sharing. Low and behold, two out of the five became editors’ picks.

First recipe of distinction is my Chocolate Truffle Cake.

Winnie the editor’s notes were:

“This chocolate truffle cake is very easy to prepare — it’s got a super short ingredient list and doesn’t bake for very long — and yet, is decadent and delicious. I used 72% chocolate and loved that the cake wasn’t too sweet (though my kids might have preferred a “less dark” chocolate). I baked mine in an 8-inch springform pan because that’s all I had, so I increased the baking time a bit because it was thicker than it would have been in a 9-inch one. Served with creme fraiche and raspberries, this cake was a wonderful treat. – WinnieAb”

I must say that I was a bit taken aback since I had no idea how the site worked.  Another interesting tidbit was that 325 people viewed this recipe.  For a novice blogger that’s a whole bunch of people looking at my recipe and then clicking on over to Two Broads Abroad.

I guess my previous life as a pastry chef is paying off because the next recipe of note is my Corn Coconut Ice Cream.  I developed this recipe way, way back in the day when I worked at Miss Ruby’s Cafe in Chelsea.  Back in the late 80s Ruth Bronz was a bigger than life Texan who came up with the idea of changing the menu every two weeks.  I was a very overwhelmed new arrival to the Big Apple when I was told to make a dessert with corn in it.  I came up with corn coconut ice cream.  It really is delicious.

And yes the bragging will end shortly.

Food 52 has a new feature called “Eat My Words” and the editors selected a wonderfully clever turn of phrase from my Swiss Chard Veggie Wraps.

“Being an omnivore with absolutely no dilemma, I wanted something with kick and a bit off the beaten path.”
Judy at Two Broads Abroad on Swiss Chard Veggie Wraps with Tamarind Dipping Sauce

So there you have it, this episode of shameless self promotion is now over.  I would suggest that you check out the sight if you haven’t already done so.  And if anyone would want to come over for a Food 52 cook book party let me know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Self Promotion

  1. When’s the next supper club so we can taste this lovely concoction?

  2. Denise, we are in the midst of moving so it won’t be for a while. You will definitely be on the list.

Leave a comment