Twelve Days of Halloween: Beet Chocolate Cake, No One Knew It Was Healthy!

The countdown  to Halloween begins and the Two Broads have been busy prepping for our Halloween bash.  In search of any and all ideas that will make a great party, my gaze fell on a magazine cover that used mini bundt cakes to make pumpkins.  I was so excited.

So into the kitchen I went all fired up to make a recipe a Food52 Community Pick, Nigel Slater’s Extremely Moist Chocolate-Beet Cake. One reading of the recipe and I knew it had to be made.

If you click over to this Food52 link you can see a wonderful slide show.

So after a quick bake a sea of potential pumpkins were before me.

I have made cakes for Nahid’s nephews before and I know they are not fans of butter cream so against my better judgment I bought canned “frosting”.  It’s gross but the kids eat it.

The assembly is easy.  Glue together two bunt cakes with “frosting” and then mask the cakes with the gooey white stuff.  Place in refrigerator to chill.  Roll out fondant and place over chilled cakes.

Allow kid magic to transform them into works of edible art.

This entry was posted in Candy, Dessert, Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Twelve Days of Halloween: Beet Chocolate Cake, No One Knew It Was Healthy!

  1. Kim says:

    That is ridiculously cute. Definitely saving that idea for my own kiddos… Even if they are 17!!!

    Thanks again for such a lovely dinner outing. Barry is shy and doesn’t talk much, but he assured me he had a great time. Hope to swing by sometime and climb up your well-reinforced tree house soon!

    Have a great week –

    [K]

  2. Pingback: Crazy Chocolate Cake - Toot Sweet 4 Two

Leave a comment