Kumamoto Oysters, Manila Clams: Sunday Dinner

Photo by Judy at Two Broads Abroad

When I am in town, and I haven’t been too often the last two months, a Sunday tradition is a trip to the Hollywood Farmers’ Market.  And tis the season for the makings of my absolute favorite Sunday dinner–a dozen oysters followed by clams in a lemony herb bath.  In order to accomplish this I make my rounds to my favorite stands, ABC Rhubarb for herbs and Oyster Boys for clams, and oysters.

The lovely ladies of ABC Rhubarb have an abundance of lemon verbena and lemon grass the essence of the clam bath.  They also have a new Facebook page they just started and you should check out.  (If you are a regular that takes photos please post.)

Photo by Judy at Two Broads Abroad

Then I head to the opposite end of the market to the always smiling, ever cute Oyster Boys.

Photo by Judy at Two Broads Abroad

Their shellfish is always, always the greatest and the best.  Usually three or more varieties of oysters are present, along with mussels and clams. Plus, did I mention they were cute?

These two market stalls are the makings of a lip smacking, I want to eat more Sunday dinner.

This week it is Kumamoto oysters.  Nahid and I prefer to skip the ketchup/catsup and go straight for horseradish unadorned, mignonette sauce and lemon juice.

Next it’s the clams.

Photo by Judy at Two Broads Abroad

Lemon verbena and lemon grass…

Photo by Judy at Two Broads Abroad

Slice and dice onion, garlic, shallots, chorizo, Thai chiles…

Photo by Judy at Two Broads Abroad

Dump in your favorite pot…

Photo by Judy at Two Broads Abroad

Add half a bottle of white wine, clams and steam for 5-10 minutes until the clams open.

YUMMM

Photo by Judy at Two Broads Abroad

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Entrees, Seafood, Spicy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kumamoto Oysters, Manila Clams: Sunday Dinner

  1. LOVE the final photo! This makes me want to eat clams, which I don’t like! You might have converted me!

  2. Janie says:

    I haven’t been the the HFM in soooooo long, it’s really a crime. Used to go every and I mean EVERY Sunday morning. I’m going to try and get there this weekend ( I hope). Normally I get over to the Montrose market since it’s only 10 minutes away. Clams in a pernod broth is one of my favorite things on the planet and it IS the best time of the year to enjoy fresh shell fish! xo

  3. Hey Judy! Let me know when you make it to the HFM next, so I can tag along. Barry’s favorite oysters are kumamotos, and I have a hard time finding them in OC. We like ours with a simple mignonette, too. And the clams… oh, the clams. Love the way you did it. When we do clams, we use day-old banh mi bread to soak up every last drop of the sauce. 🙂

    Cheers to another Sunday –

    [K]

  4. Pingback: Love, Truffle Oil and a Bit of “THE LUXE LIFE” | Welcome To My On-Line Cooking School Journey

Leave a comment