Chilled Pea Soup

I think there was an all time favorite dish at the supper club last night and it was the Chilled Pea Soup.  To be honest Nahid and I worked really hard to find the right combo to make this soup work.

Our first try, well sucked.  The color was a greenish gray and it tasted like I should just heat it up and add ham and save it for a cold fall night.  Next we moved onto peas with leeks, buttermilk and a Yukon Gold potato to thicken it up.  Close, but it was missing something.  It didn’t have the crisp freshness we were both looking for.

So we persevered .  And the last result was what we served.  Here it is in all its glory.

A few words of caution before you proceed.  The pea and cucumber mixture has a tendency to erupt in the blender, so please make sure the top is on and a protective towel on top of the lid.  Enjoy!

CHILLED PEA SOUP

  • 1 TBS olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic chopped
  • 1 medium red onion
  • 1 bag of frozen peas thawed
  • 3 Persian cucumbers chopped
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 TBS dill
  • 2TBS mint
  • 1 cup heavy cream (amount will depend on the consistency that you desire)
  • 1-2 cups vegetable or chicken stock (amount will depend on the consistency that you desire)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Add olive oil to hot saute pan
  2. Add onions and garlic.  Cook on medium high heat for 3 minutes or until transparent.
  3. Add peas and cucumbers.  Cook 3-4 minutes.
  4. Add sour cream, mint, dill and cook for another minute.
  5. Add half of the pea mixture to a blender.  Use the stock to help with the blending process.
  6. Once the first half is done add the remaining pea mixture and continue to puree adding a little cream and stock.  Keep tasting so you can decide to go with more cream or stock.
  7. If you think it’s pureed enough, let it go for another minute.
  8. Strain puree through a medium strainer.
  9. Adjust seasonings with salt and pepper.
  10. Chill for at least four hours.  It’s best when done over night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chilled Pea Soup

  1. Richard says:

    Looks great. I’m looking at the picture and I see that it is topped with something red. Is that chopped red bell peppers? I just logged onto the computer to see what I was going to make as a side dish to tonight’s dinner and I saw this. Looks great!

  2. Tania Themmen says:

    I can’t stop thinking about it. Thank you Two Broads Abroad, the soup was deeeeelishhh!

  3. Tania Themmen says:

    Hey Two Broads, THANK YOU!
    I’m in the midwest on a family vacation and it is MUGGY. I decided it was the perfect occasion to try out your Chilled Pea Soup Recipe. Up North, if you need vegetables, you stop at the local grower’s garage and try to get in on the days take, or hit the market on Sunday. But trust me there is no TJS in these parts. The herbs were a little tougher to find because you have to just go out and pick them wild. I was able to find the mint but came up a little short on the dill. I mean, I picked something that looked like dill but frankly I’m not quite sure it was ACTUALLY. dill.
    Everything went smoothly except I didn’t heed your wild peas in a blender warning. After I cleaned up what looked like a baby’s Gerber’s mishap, I chilled the soup for about 3 hours.

    And my friends went crazy for it. I’ll be looking out for more of your creative wisdom.
    Thanks again.
    Tania

  4. Susanne Aziz says:

    Judy, I made your “Pea Soup” yesterday for our friends. It turned out marvelous! It was so refreshing and just the right starter for our hot summer’s day dinner. Before the soup, I served the Jicama triangles, which were a hit as well since they are a great ‘smacking-your-lips’, vegetarian, no-carb snack! Thanks a bunch for your great recipes!

Leave a comment