Homemade Ricotta: It’s easier than you think.

It seems everywhere I turn there’s an article or video about making homemade ricotta.  So finally, I decided to give it a go.  I followed the LA Times recipe.  It couldn’t have been easier.

Add the milk and buttermilk to a pot and heat to 185 degrees.

IMG_3561

Stir in salt and vinegar…And wait until it curdles.

IMG_3564

Scoop out the curds to a strainer.  I didn’t have cheesecloth so I used coffee filters.

IMG_3574

And the results are better than you could possibly imagine.

IMG_3595

For some fantastic serving ideas check out Melissa Clark’s video from the NYTs.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Cheese, Easy, Side dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homemade Ricotta: It’s easier than you think.

  1. Mary Maher says:

    I seriously cannot wait to try this. Yum.

  2. Susanne Aziz says:

    Moh makes this all the time from leftover milk, you can add cardamom, cinnamon, pistachios or raisins as well into the mixture for flavor, if you so desire.

  3. I had no idea it was this easy! I’m making a big Italian dinner Saturday night, guess what will be on the menu. Yep, my homemade ricotta.

Leave a comment