Gingered Lamb Spare Ribs: Food Tuesday

FOOD TUESDAY

Hello my name is Judy L and I’m an impulse buyer.  When standing on line at the 7-Eleven picking up my banana and LA Times (Thursdays and Fridays only for the suduko), if I see a Star Scroll display I’ve got to buy one, okay maybe one for everyone.  If Star Scrolls aren’t around, and the jackpot for the lottery is over 25 million, I buy one.  If I’m cruising the meat counter in a grocery store and I see something that I’ve never seen before, I buy it.

FinishedRibs

Ribswithlogo
 Hence my recent purchase of lamb spare ribs.  Not just any lamb spare ribs, but individually cut ribs.  You can always get a whole rack of lamb spare ribs but individually sliced ones, never.  Actually, I’ve never seen these or racks of lamb spare ribs before, so of course I jumped.

Mz. Riz and I love lamb so why not ribs.  Of course the recipes for lamb spare ribs are sparse so a bit of improv or, if I could be so bold to say, kitchen alchemy was needed.  Thank god I captured the ingredients on film or this recipe won’t be so accurate.  The result was wonderful.  Mz. Riz asked why I made so much, yet in the end there weren’t any left.RibIngredient

  • 8 cloves garlic
  • 2 inch cube of ginger
  • 1 Thai chili (add another if you really want it hot, half if you want less zing)
  • ½ cup balsamic vinegar
  • ½ teaspoon ground cumin
  • ½ teaspoon turmeric
  • 2 racks of lamb spare ribs, whole or individually slice
  1. Add first six ingredients into a blender and puree until smooth.
  2. Place ribs in resealable plastic bag and pour marinade into bag.  Distribute marinade. Place into refrigerator for 4 hours, overnight is best.
  3. Heat oven to 325.  I wanted to cook them low and slow.
  4. Place ribs on sheet pan.  Salt and pepper ribs.  Roast for about 1 to 1 1/2 hours.
This entry was posted in Easy, Lamb, Spicy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gingered Lamb Spare Ribs: Food Tuesday

  1. bibberche says:

    I’ve never seen the individual lamb ribs before and I shop at ethnic markets all the time. I don’t doubt that your alchemy produced a delicious feast – they look really good!

  2. Janie says:

    Zing is good. Everyone needs more “zing” in their lives! Mmmmmmmmmmmmm, delicious lamb…. thanks for this!

  3. Kim says:

    So which grocery store did you find these in?! I can’t say I’ve ever seen these individually cut, either.

    I did, however, find a whole softball-size bunch of lemongrass at the Farmers market for $1.50… and now I need to figure out a way to use up all 42 stalks. Suggestions?

    [K]

Leave a comment